

MEDIA RELEASE

TBDSSAB Announces the Election Results for Representation of the Territory Without Municipal Organization

October 23, 2018 – Two residents from the unincorporated areas, Kim Brown and Julie Drewes, were nominated earlier this year to run for the Area 7 – Territory Without Municipal Organization (TWOMO) seat on The District of Thunder Bay Social Services Administration Board (TBDSSAB).

The election was done by means of mail-in voting with 659 eligible ballots being cast. Ballots were tabulated on October 22, 2018, and Kim Brown was elected to serve a four-year term beginning January 1, 2019.

Although the vote total was less than the 919 cast in 2014, which was the first time TBDSSAB used a mail-in ballot voting system, the vote total is still much higher than the turnout of less than 300 experienced the last time that a traditional polling station method was used.

There are approximately 10,000 eligible voters who reside or own property in the unincorporated areas of the Thunder Bay District which include communities such as Armstrong, Collins, Gorham, Kaministiquia, Lappe, Nolalu, Shebandowan, Rossport and Upsala.

The TBDSSAB, established on April 1, 1999 by the Province of Ontario, is the service system manager for Child Care and Early Years, Social and Affordable Housing, and Ontario Works for the District of Thunder Bay. The 14 member Board of Directors is responsible for establishing the strategic goals and governing policies for the organization, and to provide direction to the Chief Administrative Officer. The 2018 consolidated budget of TBDSSAB is \$107 million.

Contact: Brook Latimer, Supervisor – Communications & Engagement 807-766-4219