

MEDIA RELEASE

New Chair of the Board of Directors for The District of Thunder Bay Social Services Administration Board (TBDSSAB)

January 5, 2018 – The Board of Directors of The District of Thunder Bay Social Services Administration Board (TBDSSAB) announces the appointment of Lucy Kloosterhuis as their new Chair. The appointment took place at the Board's inaugural meeting held on January 4, 2018.

Lucy Kloosterhuis, Mayor of the Municipality of Oliver Paipoonge returned to the Board of Directors in April 2017. She previously served a two year term ending December 2016. Kloosterhuis takes over from Robert Katajamaki, who represents the Territory without Municipal Organization (TWOMO). Katajamaki served six consecutive terms as TBDSSAB Chair, but did not seek re-election. Mark Figliomeni, Mayor of the Township of Schreiber was appointed Vice-Chair.

"The TBDSSAB administration is grateful for the strong leadership and dedicated efforts shown by the Board and its executive toward our staff, clients and tenants," said TBDSSAB CAO, Bill Bradica. "We look forward to their continued support and guidance in 2018."

"On behalf of the Board I would like to thank Bob Katajamaki for his leadership and dedication as Chair for the past six years," said incoming Chair Lucy Kloosterhuis. "I look forward to working with the Board and Mr. Bradica in fulfilling the strategic objectives of the organization."

Established by Provincial legislation in 1999, The District of Thunder Bay Social Services Administration Board (TBDSSAB) is responsible for the administration and delivery of three legislated social services in the District of Thunder Bay: Ontario Works, Social Housing, and Child Care & Early Years. Guided by a Board of Directors comprised of elected representatives from throughout the District, TBDSSAB's vision is to provide quality services within the context of a commitment to social justice and recognition of people's potential to achieve self-sufficiency.

Contact: Brook Latimer, Communications & Engagement Officer

807-766-2111 ex. 4219